ACN oration and lectures

Patricia Chomley Memorial Oration

Call for nominations for the 46th Patricia Chomley Memorial Orator are now closed. Applicants will be notified of the outcome in the coming months.

The Patricia Chomley Memorial Oration was established in 1966 to honour Miss Patricia Chomley, the first director of the then College of Nursing, Australia (CNA).

Miss Chomley was appointed director of the CNA in 1949. During the 15 years of Miss Chomley’s leadership of CNA, some six hundred students undertook courses. Many of those nurses subsequently held senior nursing positions throughout Australia and were instrumental in progressing the nursing profession. 

The Patricia Chomley Memorial Oration is delivered annually at the ACN National Conference. The conference in 2012 was held from 23-26 May in Cairns, Queensland.

Past orations

The booklet for the Patricia Chomley Memorial Oration in 2012 can be downloaded as a PDF here.
The text of the 2011 45th Patricia Chomley oration delivered by Professor Tracey McDonald FRCNA titled NURSING – OUR MULTIGENERATIONAL WORK IN PROGRESS can be viewed here.

Gertrude Berger Lecture

The Gertrude Berger Lecture takes place annually in association with the Victorian Chapter's Annual Chapter Membership Meeting (ACMM). Keep an eye on the Victorian Chapter page for details of the next lecture.

Vivian Bullwinkel Lecture

The Vivan Bullwinkel Lecture is an annual event initiated by the School of Nursing and Midwifery at Monash University and held in conjunction with La Trobe University and ACN. This event celebrates the considerable contribution Vivian Bullwinkel made to the nursing profession and focuses on nursing as a profession and as a vital, central entity for the effective delivery of health care.
The lecture is delivered to nurses, nurse leaders and other health care professionals. Through this lecture Vivian Bullwinkel's contribution to nursing is celebrated, the landscape of nursing in the present is examined and the future of the nursing profession is discussed.

For information on any of the above, please contact Grants and Awards Coordinator by email at